Automated Metros Observatory
Oct 23 2017

Third section of Singapore Downtown Line opens

by uitp in News

Fort Canning station interior

The Downtown Line 3 (DTL3) opened on 21 October 2017, making it the longest underground and driverless mass rapid transit (MRT) line in Singapore. The 21-km long DTL3 comprises 16 stations and is the longest stretch of the Downtown Line to be opened.

The Downtown Line (DTL) is an underground, driverless, medium-capacity MRT line. DTL1 with six stations from Chinatown to Bugis opened on 22 December 2013 and DTL2 with 12 stations from Bukit Panjang to Rochor opened on 27 December 2015. The DTL3 Extension from Expo to Sungei Bedok, an additional 2.2km, will open in 2024.

The completed DTL, which will be 42km long, will facilitate direct travel from the north-western and eastern areas of the island to the Central Business District (CBD) and Marina Bay areas, providing greater connectivity to residential, industrial and commercial areas.

DTL line map

DTL3 includes three interchange stations at MacPherson, Tampines, and Expo. The MacPherson interchange station links DTL3 to the CCL, while the latter two stations connect the line to the East-West Line (EWL), providing commuters greater accessibility to the rest of the island and significantly shortening their travelling time.

There are eight Civil Defence shelters on DTL3, namely Geylang Bahru, Bedok North, Bedok Reservoir, Tampines West, Tampines, Tampines East, Upper Changi and Expo.

The first 10 stations from Fort Canning to Bedok North have achieved their Temporary Occupation Permit status while final fitting out works are currently in progress at the last six stations.


LTA Press release

LTA report on the DTL